Women second, men sixth at HCAC finale

Hanover College’s women’s cross country team placed second and the men’s squad was sixth at the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference championships. The meet was held, Saturday, Oct. 27, in Bluffton, Ohio.

Hanover’s women’s squad placed all five scoring runners in the top 19 spots to grab second place in the Heartland Conference championship for the second time in three seasons. The Panthers totaled 62 points to finish behind only Manchester University (42).

Sophomores and former high-school teammates Mackenzie Dye (New Castle, Ind.) and Claire Hinshaw (New Castle, Ind.) each posted top-12 finishes to earn all-conference honors.

Dye was fifth overall with a time of 24:09.9, while Hinshaw was ninth in the field in 24:33.1.

Freshmen Rachel Smith (Brownsburg, Ind.) and Kaleigh Debeck (Cromwell, Ind.), along with junior Janelle Lantz (Indianapolis, Ind.), each finished within the top-20 to grab honorable mention all-conference recognition and complete the Panthers’ scoring.

Smith was 13th in her first collegiate league championship race with a time of 24:52.2. DeBeck covered the six-kilometer course in 25:08.6 for a 16th-place finish. Lantz was 19th among 96th athletes in 25:25.6.

Franklin College’s Hillary Cain captured first place in the race with a time of 22:49.9. The College of Mount St. Joseph’s Amanda Shelby was second in 23:01.1.

Hanover’s men’s team totaled 124 points to land sixth among the 10 HCAC teams. The Panthers finished just one point out of fifth place and seven points out of the fourth slot.

Sophomore Logan Wells (Scottsburg, Ind.) earned all-conference honors with a 10th-place finish in 26:58.8. Junior Brendan Kelly (Indianapolis, Ind.) covered the eight-kilometer course in 27:34.5 to place 17th and earn honorable-mention all-HCAC recognition.

Manchester University won the men's team crown with 27 points. The Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology was second (83) and Franklin College was third (97).

Franklin's Kris Sandlin was the top individual with a time of 26:11.9.

Hanover senior Brock Hartness (Indianapolis, Ind.) and freshman Nikki Lewis (Mahomet, Ill.) were each named to the Heartland Conference’s all-sportsmanship team.

Heartland Conference Men's Championship: Team / Individual

Heartland Conference Women's Championship: Team / Individual