Arbaugh, Jaeger lead all-HCAC track selections

High jumper Nick Jaeger (Terre Haute, Ind.) and thrower Ashlee Arbaugh (Van Buren, Ohio) have been named the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference’s track & field newcomers of the year. The duo leads a group of 16 Panthers who have earned all-league honors.

In their first collegiate championship meet, Jaeger won the men’s high jump with a 1.93-meter leap. Arbaugh, meanwhile, finished second in the shot put (12.13 meters), third in the discus (33.57 meters) and sixth in the hammer (36.27 meters).

The selection of Arbaugh and Jaeger as the HCAC's newcomers of the year marks the third year in a row for a member of the Panthers' squad to receive the honor.

Five members of Hanover’s squad earned first-team all-conference honors.

Along with Jaeger, sophomore sprinter Briahna Chambers (Bell, Texas), senior sprinter Lexi Vincz (Greenfield, Ind.), freshman high jumper Holli Leslie (Indianapolis, Ind.) and senior thrower Emily Boyd (Indianapolis, Ind.) each claimed a spot on the unit with first-place finishes at the league’s championship meet.

Chambers, the HCAC's rookie of the year in 2012, coasted to victories in the 100-meter dash (12.48 seconds) and 200-meter dash (26.07). She also ran the anchor legs for the school-record-setting 4x400-meter relay (4:04.12) and the second-fastest 4x100-meter relay in school history (49.64).

Vincz, who joined Chambers on both relays, shattered her own HCAC record to win the 400-meter hurdles in 1:02.95. The time currently ranks 15th in the country this season.

She also ran the third-fastest 100-meter hurdles time in school history (15.63) to finish fourth in the event.

Leslie, in her first collegiate league meet, won the triple jump with a 10.88-meter leap.

Boyd posted a victory in the hammer throw with a 43.09-meter toss. She followed with a runner-up finish in the discus with a personal-best heave of 37.29 meters and also finished seventh in the shot put (10.22 meters).

Arbaugh led a group of 10 athletes who earned second-team all-Heartland Conference honors with second-place finishes at the meet.

Joining Arbaugh on the second team are sophomore Mackenzie Dye (New Castle, Ind.), senior Rachel Slade (Milford, Ohio), senior Khrystal Nugent (Lake Village, Ind.), senior Julie Miller (Anderson, Ind.), senior Kris Jenkins (Louisville, Ky.), freshman Jack Schoening (Noblesville, Ind.), senior Andy Orem (Princeton, Ind.), junior Tyler Arceneaux (Akron, Ind.) and freshman Joe Feldmann (Oregonia, Ohio).

Dye ran a personal-best 38:02.20 to claim second in the 10,000-meter run. She followed with two fourth-place finishes. She ran 5:02.87 in the 1500-meter run and 19:14.74 in the 5000-meter run.

Slade claimed four runner-up finishes, including strong legs on the 4x400-meter and 4x100-meter relays.

Slade finished second to Chambers in the 200-meters, running a lifetime-best 26.20. Her second-place 400-meter time of 59.62 is the second-fastest in school history.

Miller was a member of the Panthers’ 4x400-meter relay. She also competed in the 400 meters, placing sixth in 1:03.69.

Jenkins finished second in the 100-meter dash, running a personal-best 11.11 seconds. He followed this with a fourth-place finish in the 200-meter dash (22.43).

Orem finished third in the 400-meters (49.97), in addition to strong legs on the Panthers’ 4x100- and 4x400-meter relays.

Jenkins and Orem joined with Schoening and Arceneaux to finish second in the 4x100-meter relay. The quartet’s 43.25-second effort eclipsed the previous Hanover record of 43.46 set in 2006.

Along with Feldman, Jenkins, Orem, and Schoening also broke their own school record in the 4x400-meter relay. The squad ran 3:21.18 to finish second overall, topping their previous record of 3:24.00.

Feldman also finished just behind Orem in the 400 meters, placing fourth in 50.21 for the third-fastest in school history.

Head coach Brian Power was named the Heartland Conference’s women’s coach of the year for the second consecutive season. Power led Hanover's women's team to its third consecutive league crown, while the Panthers' men's squad placed sixth to match its best finish since 2010.

Schoening and sophomore Claire Hinshaw (New Castle, Ind.) were named to the HCAC’s all-sportsmanship team.