Paying for a college education in this day and age can be a daunting task. Hanover College offers a variety of scholarships for students.

  • 95 percent of our students receive financial assistance.
  • Hanover College ranks in the top 10 percent of the nation's colleges in endowment-per-student.
  • We awarded more than $14,000,000 in academic merit scholarships for the 2009-2010 academic year.


State-Based Awards and Scholarships

Knowlton Scholarship
This $5,000 scholarship is given to four first-year students, preferably  from Logan County, Ohio with the intent to study mathematics or a related field. Other Ohio residents may be considered.

Virginia B. Toulmin Scholarship
Students interested in studying music or theatre can receive $12,500 annually for four years. Chosen by a panel administered by the College’s Regional Arts Partnership with the Indiana Arts Commission, preference will go toward a student from Seymour, Indiana, or Jackson County, Indiana.

Keys Scholarship
For 2014-2015 this award will be in the amount of $3,000 per year. For many Kentucky students, the KEES Scholarship is an important part of funding a college education. Hanover College's Keys Scholarship is to reassure students that they can attend college outside of Kentucky without sacrificing this valuable award. It is renewable each year provided a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA is maintained.

Academic Merit Scholarships

Academic Merit Scholarships serve to recognize the overall academic achievement of students. The scholarship review committee examines GPA, SAT/ACT scores, class rank, course load and academic rigor for all applicants to Hanover College. Awarding of the four categories of academic merit scholarships is largely based on the academic composite, but co-curricular activities and campus visit interactions can aid in difficult decisions. The amount and number of scholarships awarded in each category is determined on an annual basis according to the demographics of our applicant pool.

Parker Academic Merit Scholarship
Awarded in honor of Dr. Albert G. & Katharine Parker, Hanover's president and first lady from 1929-1958. Hanover College flourished under their care and guidance in the face of the great burdens of the times.

Hendricks Academic Merit Scholarship
Awarded in honor of Thomas A. Hendricks, a graduate of the class of 1841 who went on to serve as Vice President of the United States.

Blythe Academic Merit Scholarship
Awarded in honor of Dr. James Blythe, the first President of Hanover College. He led Hanover through its formative years and laid the groundwork for the outstanding institution it has become.

Donner Academic Merit Scholarship
Awarded in honor of William H. Donner, a Hanover alumnus who was a successful businessman in the tin plate and steel industries, and a philanthropist in cancer research.

Benjamin Templeton Scholarship

To recognize Benjamin Templeton’s great academic achievements and accomplishments as a leader, Hanover has created the Benjamin Templeton Scholarship Program.

This four-year renewable scholarship covers the full cost of tuition and is awarded to 10 prospective first-year students on the basis of academic excellence and commitment to leadership, multiculturalism and social justice. Designed to identify and reward students who have made significant leadership and cultural contributions to their high school communities, this scholarship hopes to give those students the means to make a significant contribution within the Hanover community. Learn more about the Benjamin Templeton Scholarship Program.

Visual & Performing Arts Scholarships

Learn more about our Visual & Performing Arts Scholarships.

Legacy Award

Awarded to immediate relatives of Hanover College alumni and current students to remind us that the most important part of the College is not its buildings but its people. For 2014-2015, this award is in the amount of $3,000 per year. It is renewable each year provided a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA is maintained.

Need more help? Still have questions?

If you have further questions about scholarships, please contact your admission counselor directly or send an email inquiry to