Dye leads harriers at Greater Louisville Classic

Sophomore Mackenzie Dye (New Castle, Ind.) earned all-invitational honors to lead the Hanover College Cross Country teams at the Greater Louisville Classic. The meet was held Saturday, Sept. 29, at Sawyer Park in Louisville, Ky.

After sitting out last week due to illness, Dye returned to place 14th overall. Dye covered the five-kilometer course in 19:45.59.

Freshman Kaleigh DeBeck (Cromwell, Ind.) ran 20:20.33 to place 44th, while Claire Hinshaw (New Castle, Ind.) finished eight seconds behind in 52nd place.

Freshman Rachel Smith (Brownsburg, Ind.) and junior Janelle Lantz (Indianapolis, Ind.) completed the Panthers' scoring, running 21:23.00 and 21:45.02 to finish 122nd and 150th, respectively.

Shorter College (Ga.) junior Shea Spicher won the meet in a time of 18:30.51. West Virginia Wesleyan won the team title with 73 points.

Hanover scored 326 points to finish eighth overall and second among NCAA Division III schools in the 46-team Silver Race.

Hanover's men's squad also competed in the Silver Race.

Freshman Drew Elston (Carmel, Ind) led the Panthers for the second consecutive week. Elston ran 27:57.26 to complete the eight-kilometer course in 77th place.

Sophomore Logan Wells (Scottsburg, Ind.) ran with Elston for most of the race, finishing just behind in 86th place in 28:07.20.

Juniors Jason and Matthew Holcomb (Sellersburg, Ind.), finished 130th and 158th, respectively, covering the course 28:54.20 and 29:26.65.

Competing in his debut race, freshman Ben Franke (Seymour, Ind.) rounded out the Panthers' scoring. Franke ran 29:29.37 to finish 161st.

The Panthers scored 541 points to finish 24th in the 38-team meet. Spartanburg Methodist College (S.C.) won the team crown with 44 points.

Franklin College’s Kris Sandlin won the men's event with a 25:57.28 effort.

Greater Louisville Classic: Men's Results / Women's Results