Women's track claims Indiana DIII title

Competing in the first Indiana DIII Track & Field Championships, the Hanover College women’s team claimed the team title and the most valuable performer awards for both track and field events. The men’s team broke a 29-year-old relay record and won the high jump to finish fifth overall. The meet was held Saturday, April 13 in Franklin, Ind.

Sophomore sprinter Briahna Chambers (Bell, Texas) claimed four firsts and a second to earn the most valuable track athlete award. Chambers started the day with a new school record in the long jump (5.42 meters) to win the event by more than half a meter.

Chambers just missed the Hanover school record (12.40 seconds) in the 100-meter dash, running 12.48. She also edged teammate Rachel Slade (Milford, Ohio) in the 200 meters, running 26.30 seconds to Slade’s 26.43.

The pair teamed with seniors Khrystal Nugent (Lake Village, Ind.) and Lexi Vincz (Greenfield, Ind.) to win the 4x100-meter-relay in 51.45 seconds, the fifth-fastest time in Hanover history.

Along with senior Julie Miller (Anderson, Ind.), Chambers, Slade, and Vincz ran the second-fastest 4x400-meter-relay in school history, finishing second overall with a 4:08.60 effort.

Vincz outpaced the field in the 400 hurdles, winning in a season-best 1:05.54.

Sophomore distance runner Mackenzie Dye (New Castle, Ind.) finished second in the 5,000-meter run, running the fourth-fastest time in Hanover history (18:19.28).

In the field events, senior thrower Emily Boyd (Indianapolis, Ind.) earned first, second and eighth place finishes to earn co-field athlete-of-the-meet honors with Franklin College thrower Amanda Owen.

Boyd won the hammer toss with a 42.47-meter heave and placed eighth in the shot with a 9.35-meter put. Boyd’s second-place discus throw of 37.38-meters is the second-best in school history.

Freshman Ashlee Arbaugh (Van Buren, Ohio) broke her own shot put record with a winning toss of 12.16-meters.

Classmate Holli Leslie (Indianapolis, Ind.) also took top honors, winning the triple jump with a 10.76-meter leap.

Hanover scored 193.50 points to outdistance host Franklin (144) and DePauw University (138.50).

The men’s team turned in some impressive performances of their own, including winning the 4 x 400-meter-relay in a school record 3:24.00. The team of senior Kris Jenkins (Louisville, Ky.), freshman Joe Feldman (Oregonia, Ohio), freshman Jack Schoening (Noblesville, Ind.) and senior Andy Orem (Princeton, Ind.) topped the 1984 record of 3:25.14.

Orem finished third in the 400-meter-hurdles (56.52) seconds, while Jenkins finished fourth in both the 100-meter dash (11.14) and 200-meter dash (22.57). The 100-meter-dash performance is the fourth-best in school history.

Freshman high-jumper Nick Jaeger (Terre Haute, Ind.) cleared 1.93 meters to win the event, but just missed subsequent attempts at a national-level mark (2.04-meters).

Junior thrower Al Moreland (Lawton, Mich.) finished fifth in javelin ( 44.54 meters) and eighth in the hammer throw (41.21 meters), while sophomore Austin Duncan (Pekin, Ind.) finished eighth in the discus with a 36.79-meter heave.

Hanover's men’s team finished sixth with 48 points. Wabash College won the meet with 335 points.

Indiana DIII Championships results