McKay repeats, record effort leads to HCAC title

Junior Brooke McKay (Carmel, Ind.) earned medalist honors for the second consecutive season and Hanover College’s women’s golf team captured the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference championship with a record-setting performance. The 36-hole event was played at Shadowood Golf Course in Seymour, Ind.

Hanover fired a two-round 662 (332-330) to claim the program’s second conference championship in the past four seasons. With the league title, the Panthers will return to NCAA Division III national championship, slated for May 13-16 in Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla.

McKay, who became the third player since 1997 to win back-to-back individual crowns, fired a two-round total of 157 (78-79) to post a six-stroke victory against Anderson University's Lauren Flores (163).

Freshman Brittany Gingerich (Millersburg, Ind.), sophomore Erika Shepherd (Jeffersonville, Ind.) and freshman Devan Smith (Depauw, Ind.) each notched top-eight finishes to earn all-conference honors.

Gingerich turned in a fourth-place finish with a 167 (84-83) on the 5,827-yard course. Shepherd fired a 170 (89-81) to land seventh overall. Smith was eighth with a two-day total of 171 (84-87).

Senior Sloane Hamilton (Mason, Ohio), named to the all-sportsmanship team, placed 13th in the 38-golfer field with a 173 (86-87).

Hanover head coach Wayne Perry was presented with the Heartland Conference's coach-of-the-year honor. Perry, who led the Panthers to a first-place finish in a school-record six tournaments this fall, also received the award after leading his team to the 2010 HCAC title and NCAA berth.

Hanover's 662 was five strokes better than the previous conference record, set by the Panthers in 2010 when the squad posted a 667 (330-337) to win the program's first league championship.

The Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology placed second with a 697 (352-345). Franklin College was third with a 700 (346-354) and the College of Mount St. Joseph (Ohio) finished fourth with a 702 (350-352).

Heartland Conference championship results