Seniors Emilee Roberts (West Terre Haute, Ind.) and Rusty Jones (Lexington, Ind.), along with professors Larry Thornton and Darrin Rubino, led a list of award recipients at Hanover College's 77th annual Honors Convocation. The event took place Thursday, April 10, in Fitzgibbon Recital Hall in the Lynn Center for Fine Arts.

Roberts, who majors in psychology and is a member of the Business Scholars Program, earned the Henry C. Long Citation for Scholarship and General Excellence as the outstanding senior female.

Jones, a mathematics and secondary education double major, earned the John Finley Crowe Citation for Scholarship and General Excellence as the outstanding senior male. He also received a Scholarship-Leadership Award.

Serving as professor of history since 1986, Thornton earned the Arthur and Ilene Baynham Outstanding Teaching Award. The honor, established in 1969, is selected through a balloting of currently enrolled students and alumni from the past two graduating classes. To be eligible, a faculty member must be in at least the fourth year of teaching at the College. The winner receives a bronze medallion and a cash prize.

Thornton also earned the award in 1991 and 2004. He teaches modern European history and specializes in Europe during the 1930s and 1940s. Topics include Tsarist Russia, the Soviet Union, Nazi Germany, the Holocaust, genocide, the French Revolution and Napoleon, among others. Thornton completed his doctorate at the University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign), his master’s at Purdue University and his bachelor’s degree at Indiana University (South Bend).

Rubino, who serves as associate Professor of biology, earned the Daryl R. Karns Award for Scholarly and Creative Activity. The award, established in 2011, re-named in honor of the biology professor who died in 2011, recognizes sustained scholarly or creative achievement. Faculty members nominate colleagues for the award, which are sent to three judges at liberal arts colleges similar to Hanover. The winner receives a bronze medallion and a cash prize.

Since arriving at Hanover in 2002, Rubino has taught botany and research methods. He previously earned the Arthur and Ilene Baynham Outstanding Teaching Award in 2007 and 2012. Rubino completed his doctorate at Ohio University, a master’s degree from Clarion University of Pennsylvania and his bachelor’s degree from Thiel College.

77th Annual Honors DayRecipientHometown
The Henry C. Long for Scholarship and General ExcellenceEmilee RobertsWest Terre Haute, Ind.
The John Finley Crowe Citation for Scholarship and General ExcellenceRusty JonesLexington, Ind.
The Arthur and Ilene Baynham Outstanding Teaching AwardLarry Thornton (history) 
The Daryl R. Karns Award for Scholarly and Creative ActivityDarrin Rubino (biology) 
The Frank S. Luttmer Award for the Study of History through International ExperienceRichard SellersNoblesville, Ind.
The Aubra Jade Hiland Award for Creative WritingOlivia McPhersonFountaintown, Ind.
The Robert R. and Clara J. Beach Award in SociologyCarly ClarkCincinnati
 Jordan HallNew Washington, Ind.
 Jacie HubbardWhiteland, Ind.
The Robert E. Bowers History AwardChelsea GentryAurora, Ind.
 Andrew StephensBoonville, Ind.
The Enos Pray Biology AwardDavid HensonFrankfort, Ky.
The Dorothy S. Bucks Award in EnglishJessica WitteLouisville, Ky
 Thomas JonesVincennes, Ind.
The John Livingston Lowes Award in EnglishJessica WitteLouisville, Ky.
The Distinguished Award in Cultural AnthropologyJennefer GoreFlat Rock, Ind.
 Dani MillerHanover, Ind.
The Distinguished Award in Art HistoryKristina YoungkinGreenfield, Ind.
The Distinguished Award in Studio ArtHaley PattersonSo. Bend, Ind.
 Kylie JustusCrawfordsville, Ind.
The Distinguished Award in Classical Studies  
The Distinguished Award in CommunicationLauren BowersCarmel, Ind.
The Distinguished Award in Computer SciencePhillip DoldScottsburg, Ind.
The Business Scholar Program Award for Academic ExcellenceRachel JonesLexington, Ky.
 Lauren BowersCarmel, Ind.
 Megan KellerCleves, Ohio
The Business Scholars Program Achievement AwardJonathan LaneVincennes, Ind.
The Hilda M. Cordrey AwardsKelsey WeiheGoshen, Ky.
 Kate WeiheGoshen, Ky.
The Distinguished Award in Elementary EducationSara ChilewskiCincinnati
The Distinguished Award in Secondary EducationHope MartinPendelton, Ind.
The Distinguished Award in Environmental ScienceTrevor ChapmanNoblesville, Ind.
The Distinguished Award in FrenchAli RenschlerEvansville, Ind.
The Distinguished Award in GeologyAlex MorelandLawton, Mich.
The Distinguished Award in GermanJennefer GoreFlat Rock, Ind.
The Distinguished Award in Health and Movement StudiesKatie ReganCarmel, Ind.
 Kerry DetienneAnderson, Ind.
The M. Anwarul Haq International Studies AwardAnna RenoLafayette, Ind.
The Distinguished Award in Kinesiology and Integrative PhysiologyChloe HutchinsonLouisville, Ky.
The Distinguished Award in MusicNathan RichterNabb, Ind.
The Distinguished Award in PhilosophyTylor CunninghamLouisville, Ky.
 Jordan NeidlingerIndianapolis
The Distinguished Award in PsychologyJessie BartonDarlington, Ind.
 Stephen OtteEdgewood, Ky.
The Distinguished Award in SpanishLeila CahillRichmond, Ky.
 Megan KellerCleves, Ohio
Distinguished Award in TheatreGracie TaylorMiddletown, Ohio
Distinguished Award in TheologyMaxx FisherSeymour, Ind.
The John B. Goodrich Prize in OratoryJanet SchnurrLexington, Ky.
The Morse Mathematical AwardCiarra HarrRushville, Ind.
The Dr. John E. Yarnelle Mathematics PrizeEliza BuiHanoi, Vietnam
The A. Glenn Mower, Jr. Pre-Law AwardStephen OtteEdgewood, Ky.
The Keith and Gwen White Award for Graduate Study in ChemistrySam WerneJasper, Ind.
The R. Earl Martin Physics AwardJan-Niklas ReisserNuremberg, Germany
The Richard L. Conklin Award in PhysicsAlec HamakerNoblesville, Ind.
 Yuding AiChengdu, China
The Ned Guthrie Chemistry AwardDavid HensonFrankfort, Ky.
 Aaren KettlehutVilla Hills, Ky.
The George A. and Sara O. Zirkle Award in PsychologyMegan KellerCleves, Ohio
The M. L. Greiner Art Purchase AwardOlivia HinkelShelburn, Ind.
The Charles and Dorothy Lynn English PrizeLauren SchultzErlanger, Ky.
The Edward J. Hamilton Essay PrizeEmily BumgardnerRockville, Ind.
The Eli Mace Essay PrizeAndrew StephensBoonville, Ind.
The Philip R. Taylor Award for Student PublishingKari VollmerWilliamsport, Ind.
The Dennis Kovener AwardJacie HubbardWhiteland, Ind.
Gamma Sigma Pi Honor SocietyLauren BowersCarmel, Ind.
 Leila CahillRichmond, Ky.
 Phillip DoldScottsburg, Ind.
 Chelsea GentryAurora, Ind.
 Jennefer GoreFlat Rock, Ind.
 Ciara HarrRushville, Ind.
 Patrick HeckmanGreenwood, Ind.
 David HensonFrankfort, Ky.
 Chloe HutchinsonLouisville, Ky.
 Rachel JonesLexington, Ky.
 Megan KellerCleves, Ohio
 Aaren KettelhutVilla Hills, Ky.
 Janelle LantzIndianapolis, Ind.
 William MastersRedkey, Ind.
 Katie McKinleyHanover, Ind.
 Tara McMahonErlanger, Ky.
 Amber MetallaMadison, Ind.
 Dani MillerHanover, Ind.
 Jessica RedelmanGreensburg, Ind.
 Addie RosenbergerLouisville, Ky.
 Kate WeiheGoshen, Ky.
 Kelsey WeiheGoshen, Ky.
 Jessica WitteLouisville, Ky.
 Derrick WordenGalveston, Ind.
 Yuding AiChengdu, China
 Clarissa AkersLexington, Ind.
 Carrie AlexanderManilla, Ind.
 Mustafa AlmajediLouisville, Ky.
 Sarah BrockerCarmel, Ind.
 Eliza BuiHanoi, Vietnam
 Emily BumgardnerRockville, Ind.
 Ivana EilerShelbyville, Ky.
 Mathew GrauCincinnati
 Erin HancockAmelia, Ohio
 Katherine KnowlesBelleville, Ill.
 Sarah LoveNashville, Ind.
 Michael MillerNo. Vernon, Ind.
 Felicia NguyenIndianapolis
 Megan RobinsonRoachdale, Ind.
 Lauren SchultzErlanger, Ky.
 Kayla SnablHuntington, Ind.
 Holly WatsonTipton, Ind.