Eden, Agarwal highlight academic award winners

Top student award winners standing with President Lambert

Seniors Ashley Layne Eden (Anderson, Ind.) and Naren Agarwal (Kolkata, India) led a substantial list of award recipients at Hanover College's 80th-annual Honors Convocation. The event was held Thursday, April 13, in Fitzgibbon Recital Hall, Lynn Center for Fine Arts.

Eden, a gender studies major, earned the Henry C. Long Citation for Scholarship and General Excellence as the outstanding senior female. She also received the Distinguished Award in Gender Studies and the Mary Mildred Sullivan Award from the Office of Experiential Learning.

Active on campus, she is a Benjamin Templeton Scholar, resident assistant, student hall director, president of Love Out Loud and an officer in the Feminist Club. She also interned at the National Organization for Women in Washington, D.C., and at Harvard's summer programs.

Agarwal, an economics major, was presented with the John Finley Crowe Citation for Scholarship and General Excellence as the outstanding senior male. In addition to his efforts in the classroom, he has worked as a resident assistant, studied abroad in Australia and Belgium, and been a member of Lambda Chi Alpha fraternity, International Club and the Environmental Stewardship Group.

The Long Citation, first presented in 1947, is given by the trustees of the College to the outstanding graduating senior woman based on excellence in the areas of character, scholarship, leadership and social responsibility. The award is named for Henry C. Long, whose gift created the Long College for Women, which merged with Hanover College in 1978.

The Crowe Citation is named to honor Hanover’s founder, John Finley Crowe. Created by the faculty in 1955, the award is given to the outstanding graduating senior man based on excellence in the areas of character, scholarship, leadership and social responsibility.

Previous Crowe Citation and Long Citation recipients

80th Annual Honors DayRecipient
The Henry C. Long for Scholarship and General ExcellenceAshley Layne Eden
The John Finley Crowe Citation for Scholarship and General ExcellenceNaren Agarwal
The Arthur and Ilene Baynham Outstanding Teaching AwardGlene Mynhardt
The Daryl R. Karns Award for Scholarly and Creative ActivityBrian Gall
The Alpha Lambda Delta AwardKatie Schmidt
The Distinguished Award in AnthropologyFlavia Barbosa
Madison Conway
The Distinguished Award in Art HistorySamantha McCain
Art History Writing AwardSamantha McCain
Asumi Oba
The Distinguished Award in Art & DesignMalik Hairston
The M. L. Greiner Art Purchase AwardMal McElroy
The Enos Pray Biology AwardMackenzie Spicer
The Business Scholars Program Award for Academic ExcellenceJace Gentil
Mal McElroy
Betsy Milligan Johnson Business Scholars Achievement AwardMackenzie Dean
Layne Taylor
The Distinguished Award in BiochemistryAllison Mruzek Terpening
The Ned Guthrie Chemistry AwardAdam Anthony
Gaby Leith
The Keith and Gwen White Award for Graduate Study in ChemistryCassie Schoborg
The Distinguished Award in CommunicationJace Gentil
Diane Jackson
The John B. Goodrich Prize in OratoryAzia Watts
The Philip R. Taylor Award for Student PublishingShelby Hart
The Distinguished Award in Computer ScienceNaoki Sawahashi
Hoang Van
The Distinguished Award in EconomicsDeborah Odihi
The Distinguished Award in Elementary EducationAnna Cornacchione
The Distinguished Award in Secondary EducationKatie Schmidt
The Distinguished Award in Special EducationBrennan Pool
The Hilda M. Cordrey AwardsAnna Cornacchione (1st)
Miriam Cahill (2nd)
The Dorothy S. Bucks Award in EnglishKatie Schmidt
The John Livingston Lowes Award in EnglishAnna Kemple
The Charles and Dorothy Lynn English PrizeJenna Auber
The Aubra Jade Hiland Award for Creative WritingKatie Schmidt
The Distinguished Award in Environmental ScienceAlex Weeden
The Distinguished Award in FrenchMal McElroy
Mallory Noble
The Distinguished Award in Gender StudiesAshley Layne Eden
The Distinguished Award in GeologyEric O’Risky
The Distinguished Award in Health and Movement StudiesKirby Lantz
The Robert E. Bowers History AwardJames Hogan
The Frank S. Luttmer Award for the Study of History through International ExperienceFalyn Moncrief
The M. Anwarul Haq International Studies AwardRebecca Duke
The Distinguished Award in Kinesiology and Integrative PhysiologyKelly Gehlbach
Kylie Hawks
Gabby Ritchey
The Morse Mathematical AwardNaoki Sawahashi
Hoang Van
The Dr. John E. Yarnelle Mathematics PrizeMikhaila Hamilton
The Distinguished Award in Medieval Renaissance StudiesMersi Curtsinger
The Richard L. Conklin Award in PhysicsMarissa Childs
The Fleming Physics AwardKenny Jarnagin
Haque Sakib
The Distinguished Award in Political ScienceMadeline Brogan
John Simon
Cameron Trachtman
The A. Glenn Mower, Jr. Pre-Law AwardCameron Trachtman
The Distinguished Award in PsychologyMattie Borders
Courtney Markland
The George A. and Sara O. Zirkle Award in PsychologySarah Gawronska
The Robert R. and Clara J. Beach Award in SociologyJana Dajani
Callie Monce
The Distinguished Award in SpanishIleana Correa
Jessie Lamb
Alex Weeden
Distinguished Award in TheatreDean Gnadinger
Jazlyn Stanciel
The Dennis Kovener AwardCassandra Lockridge
The Algernon Sydney Sullivan AwardChristopher Michael Barbera
The Mary Mildred Sullivan AwardAshley Layne Eden

See more news.