Biology professors earn top faculty honors

2017 Honors Convocation award winners standing with President Lambert

Glene Mynhardt and Brian Gall earned the top faculty awards during Hanover College's 80th-annual Honors Convocation. The event took place Thursday, April 13, in Fitzgibbon Recital Hall, Lynn Center for Fine Arts.

Mynhardt, an assistant professor of biology, earned the Arthur and Ilene Baynham Outstanding Teaching Award. Established in 1969, the honor is selected by a balloting of currently enrolled students and alumni from the past two graduating classes. To be eligible, a faculty member must be in at least their fourth year of teaching at the College. The winner receives a bronze medallion and a cash prize.

Mynhardt joined Hanover’s faculty in 2013. She teaches a range of courses, including concepts of biology, ecology and evolution, cell and molecular biology and, during spring term, tropical biology.

Her primary research interest is beetle systematics, specifically the evolution of myrmecophilous beetles.

She completed her doctorate at The Ohio State University, earned a master’s at Texas A&M University and her bachelor’s degree at the University of Texas at Austin.

Gall, an assistant professor of biology, received the Daryl R. Karns Award for Scholarly and Creative Activity. The award, established in 2011, recognizes sustained scholarly or creative achievement. Faculty members nominate colleagues for the award, which are sent to three judges at liberal arts colleges similar to Hanover. The winner receives a bronze medallion and a cash prize.

Gall, member of the College’s faculty since 2012, teaches courses such as ecology and evolution, animal behavior, herpetology, biodiversity and vertebrate biology.

His areas of research include interactions between predator and prey, communication and signaling in aquatic communities and the effects of egg predation on the coevolution between rough-skinned newts and garter snakes.

He completed his doctorate at Utah State University, master’s at Missouri State University and his bachelor’s degree at Quincy University.

Previous Baynham Award and Karns Award recipients

See more news.