Pictured above (l-r): Dominique DePriest, Deborah Hanson, President Lake Lambert, Hunter Guthrie and Don Carrell.

Hanover College academic seal

Seniors Dominique DePriest and Hunter Guthrie received Hanover College’s top student academic awards, while Don Carrell and Deborah Hanson earned top faculty awards during the 82nd-annual Honors Convocation. The event, featuring members of the Class of 2019 and faculty in full academic regalia, was held Thursday, April 11, in Fitzgibbon Recital Hall, Lynn Center for Fine Arts.

DePriest, a double major in sociology and English, earned the Henry C. Long Citation for Scholarship and General Excellence as the outstanding senior female. She also received the Robert R. and Clara J. Beach Award in Sociology.

DePriest, a Benjamin Templeton Scholar, has served the campus community as president of Student Senate, senior intern in the office of admission and hall director for Crowe/Lynn residence halls. She has also been president of the Spanish Club and a member of the Latino Student Union, Feminist Club and International Club.

Guthrie, a history major and member of the Business Scholars Program, received the John Finley Crowe Citation for Scholarship and General Excellence as the outstanding senior male. He also earned the Robert E. Bowers History Award.

Guthrie, a three-time academic all-conference soccer player, has been active as a residence hall director, senior intern in the office of admission, the office of student life’s intern for prevention, wellness and leadership initiatives, and tutor in the Gladish Center for Teaching and Learning. He has also been vice president of the Campus Activities Board, scholarship chair for Lambda Chi Alpha fraternity and Inter-Fraternity Council, campus coordinator for Ascend Indiana, membership chair for Mortar Board and member of the Culture of Recovery Partnership.

Carrell, a professor of philosophy, earned the Arthur and Ilene Baynham Outstanding Teaching Award for the third time. Established by the College in 1969, the honoree is selected by a ballot of currently enrolled students and alumni from the past two graduating classes. To be eligible, a faculty member must be in at least the fourth year of teaching at the College. The winner receives a bronze medallion and a cash prize.

Carrell came to Hanover as a part-time faculty member in 1995 and began teaching full time in 1998. He teaches courses in ancient philosophy, Greek, ancient literature in translation and ancient history.

He previously received the Baynham Award in 2005 and 2010. He joins professors Darrin Rubino (biology), Larry Thornton (history) and George Curtis (history) as the only three-time recipients in the 50-year history of the award. In addition, Carrell's wife, Kate Johnson, also a professor of philosophy, is a two-time recipient. She earned the Baynham Award in 1999 and 2015.

Hanson, associate professor of education and director of teacher education, received the Daryl R. Karns Award for Scholarly and Creative Activity. The award, named for the biology professor who died in 2011, recognizes sustained scholarly or creative achievement. Faculty members nominate colleagues for the award, which are sent to three judges at liberal arts colleges similar to Hanover. The winner receives a bronze medallion and a cash prize.

Hanson, who joined the College’s faculty in 2006, teaches courses including foundations of education, inquiry in education, early child literacy and development, designing environmental curriculum, elementary science and math methods, and teaching science, technology, engineering and math (STEM).

82nd-annual Honors DayRecipient
The Henry C. Long Citation for Scholarship and General ExcellenceDominique DePriest
The John Finley Crowe Citation for Scholarship and General ExcellenceHunter Guthrie
The Arthur and Ilene Baynham Outstanding Teaching AwardDon Carrell
The Daryl R. Karns Award for Scholarly and Creative ActivityDeborah Hanson
The Alpha Lambda Delta AwardEmma Jones
The Algernon Sydney Sullivan AwardCole Vanderpohl
The Mary Mildred Sullivan AwardJessica Rieskamp
The Dennis Kovener AwardJacob Domalewski
The Distinguished Award in AnthropologyGeneva Dischinger-Smedes
Tessa Pappas
The Distinguished Award in Art & DesignHannah Miller
The M. L. Greiner Art Purchase AwardHannah Miller
The Enos Pray Biology AwardJordan Craven
The Distinguished Award in BiochemistryEmily Cushman
Gerald R. Johnson ’69 Business Scholars Program Academic Excellence AwardJacob Hedrick
Betsy Milligan Johnson ’70 Business Scholars Program Achievement AwardJordan Hartman
The Ned Guthrie Chemistry AwardBridgitte Buchanan
The Keith and Gwen White Award for Graduate Study in ChemistryKarlie Miller
The Distinguished Award in CommunicationAmber King
The John B. Goodrich Prize in OratoryTalena Moorman
The Distinguished Award in Computer ScienceJacob Hedrick
The Distinguished Award in EconomicsElizabeth Donaway
The Distinguished Award in Elementary EducationAbby Daley
The Distinguished Award in Secondary EducationKyle Conrad
The Distinguished Award in Special EducationRachel Miller
The Hilda M. Cordrey AwardsAbby Daley (1st Place)
Michaela Williams (2nd Place)
The Distinguished Award in EngineeringMarissa Childs
The Dorothy S. Bucks Award in EnglishMacy Barwick
Emma Jones
The John Livingston Lowes Award in EnglishNoah Wezensky
The Charles and Dorothy Lynn English PrizeHope Westmoreland
The Aubra Jade Hiland Award for Creative WritingAngelena Pierce
The Edward J. Hamilton Essay PrizeKiki Crone (1st Place)
Joshua Smith (2nd Place)
The Eli Mace Essay PrizeJacob Domalewski
The Margaret Kichel Whallon Essay PrizeJacob Domalewski
The Philip R. Taylor Award for Student PublishingElizabeth Donaway
Emma Jones
The Distinguished Award in Environmental ScienceErin Trimpe
The Distinguished Award in FrenchZach Gabbert
The Distinguished Award in GeologyConnor McCarthy
The Distnguished Award in Health and Movement StudiesJacob Rugen
The Robert E. Bowers History AwardElizabeth Donaway
Hunter Guthrie
The Frank S. Luttmer Award for the Study of History through International ExperienceRebekah Jones
The M. Anwarul Haq International Studies AwardOforitsete Ogor
The Distinguished Award in Kinesiology and Integrative PhysiologyClaire Cromer
The Morse Mathematical AwardKenny Jarnagin
The Dr. John E. Yarnelle Mathematics PrizeCambria Jones
The Distinguished Award in PhilosophyJacob Odulio
The Richard L. Conklin Award in PhysicsTy Allen
The Distinguished Award in Political ScienceJacqueline Hensley
The A. Glenn Mower, Jr. Pre-Law AwardKatie Koopman
The Distinguished Award in PsychologyKylie Nienabar
The George A. and Sara O. Zirkle Award in PsychologyWylie Brace
The Robert R. and Clara J. Beach Award in SociologyMaria Corniacchione
Dominque DePriest
The Distinguished Award in SpanishElizabeth Donaway
Emma Jones
Distinguished Award in TheatreDakota Phillips
Distinguished Award in TheologyCori Oney