The Distinguished Young Alumni Award

The Distinguished Young Alumni Award


Introduced in 2011, the Hanover College Distinguished Young Alumni Award is the highest honor bestowed upon an alumna/us under the age of 40 by November 1 of the nominating year. The award recognizes alumni who have enhanced the reputation of the College by making significant contributions to their community, state and nation through professional service, public service, and/or civic activities.


  • Previous AAA and DYA award winners are not eligible.
  • A nominee must be a graduate of Hanover College.
  • A nominee must have made significant contributions to their community, state, and nation through professional service, public service, and/or civic activities.
  • A nominee must be living.
  • A nominee is not on the Board of Trustees.
  • A nominee is not on the Alumni Leadership Council.


The Alumni Achievement Award and Distinguished Young Alumni Award are the most prestigious awards presented by the Hanover College Alumni Association. Each year nominations are solicited from all alumni and members of the College Community to find those who should be recognized for their outstanding achievements. An alumni selection committee, comprised of alums with diverse backgrounds and unique perspectives, reviews the materials submitted for both the Alumni Achievement Award (over 40) and the Distinguished Young Alumni Award (under 40) and selects those persons whose achievements most closely fit the criteria for each award and who are deemed most deserving of recognition. The names of those selected are then recommended to the association’s Alumni Leadership Council and the College President for action.

Nominations are accepted year-round and are kept in consideration for two years. To be considered for an award in the next calendar year, all nominations need to be submitted by November 1. Once the honoree(s) are selected, they will be presented with their award during the Alumni Award Luncheon which is held the Friday night before Homecoming Weekend.

Past Winners of the Distinguished Young Alumni Award

Benjamin Gunning ’08
Brianna Harlan ’15

Patric Morrison ’10
Morgan Rumple ’13
Chris Walsh ’13

2019 Award Winners
Not Awarded

2018 Award Winners
Bryan Gabriel ’06
Jared Smith ’08
Jesika Kuzouka Young ’08

2017 Award Winners
Brian Michitti ’05
Katie Miltner ’02
Catherine Fannin Peel ’01

2016 Award Winners
Elisabeth McCandless Edwards ’98
Molly Orebaugh Dodge ’98
Aaron Tobian ’98

2015 Award Winners
Emily Burks Perry ’99
John Resig ’01
Bill Wilcox ’01

2014 Award Winners
Jeff Daniels ’98
Lara Hayes Needham ’96

2013 Award Winners
Phil Chamberlin ’01
Jill Robinson Kramer ’98
Lori Helton Welker ’97