About the Award

The purpose of the Eleanore Watts Moyer Award is to recognize individuals who have given exemplary voluntary service to Hanover College. In so doing, Hanover also pays tribute to Eleanore Watts Moyer, Class of 1942, who served Hanover exceptionally long and well, from her early years growing up on campus where her mother worked as a dietitian, through her years as a noteworthy student-athlete, and through the culmination of her volunteerism which reached an apex from the period of 1983 into the twenty-first century.

All non-student volunteers - including alumni, trustees, community members, staff and faculty, or friends of the College - are eligible for consideration for the Eleanore Watts Moyer Award.

The Award
A plaque will be presented to the recipient at a public ceremony, and a plaque with each recipient's name will be permanently displayed on campus.

Past recipients

2002 Doug Burney '73

2003 John R. Smith '53

2004 Marjorie Conner

2005 Bill Griffin

2006 Chris Wilcox and Randy Master '82

2007 Pat Nichols

2008 Stan Totten

2009 Lou Knoble

2010 Lisa Fleming '82 and Grace Ireland

2011 Lynn Welch Maricle '75

2012 Kevin Keefe '82 and Jamie Tomes '94,

2013 Shannon Veach Gibbs '91

2015 Susanne Talmage Ellman '65

2016 Betsy Milligan Johnson '70


Please complete the nomination form below and make sure to fill out the REASON for your nomination. This information will be used to help determine the winner. All nominations must be submitted by April 1 of each year.

Please be sure to review all your information for accuracy before submitting this form.