Distinguished Young Alumni Awards

The Distinguished Young Alumni Awards are given to Hanoverians under the age of forty who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement, civic leadership, or service to Hanover College. The Awards are conferred at the spring Alumni Awards Brunch.

2016 Award Winners

Elisabeth McCandless Edwards ’98
An English major at Hanover, Elisabeth McCandless Edwards earned her Juris Doctor in 2002 from Indiana University, where she received recognition as a Silver Participant in the Pro Bono Program, as a member of the Dean's Student Advisory Board, and as a member of Phi Alpha Delta.
She is a founding attorney at Wanzer Edwards, where she practices in a number of areas, including family law. Founded in 2011, the law firm is focused on doing divorce differently, centering on “Promoting Peace. Protecting Family.” In addition to these achievements, Edwards remains committed to changing the lives in her community by volunteering, helping to create IndyPC.org in 2015. She has coauthored a number of law seminars and has been invited to speak on numerous news programs.

Molly Orebaugh Dodge ’98
A political science major at Hanover, Molly Orebaugh Dodge received a Masters in Philanthropic Studies and a Masters in Nonprofit Management from Indiana University-Purdue University. Since 2007, she has worked at River Valley Resources, where she directs the Clearinghouse and the Adult Education Program.
She gives of her time and talent as a volunteer at the First Christian Church in Madison, Jefferson County House of Hope, and as a member of the Community Foundation’s Women’s Giving Circle and Tri Kappa Sorority. Dodge has been recognized for her professional contributions as a recipient of the 2015 Community Partner of the Year Award presented by the Indiana National Association of Social Workers.

Aaron Tobian ’98
After graduating, Dr. Aaron Tobian completed a combined M.D. and Ph.D. program at Case Western Reserve University. During medical school, he was elected into the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. He is a board certified physician and Associate Director of Transfusion Medicine at Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, Md., and an Associate Professor of Pathology, Medicine and Epidemiology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Bloomberg School of Public Health. In addition to receiving awards for his work, Tobian has lived or worked in five developing countries; established an international HIV research program; and his research led the American Academy of Pediatrics to change its policy statement in support of male circumcision. He has also authored more than 100 peer-reviewed research articles.


2015 Award Winners

Emily Burks Perry `99
John Resig `01
Bill Wilcox `01

2014 Award Winners
Jeff Daniels `98
Lara Hayes Needham `96

2013 Award Winners
Phil Chamberlin `01
Jill Robinson Kramer `98
Lori Helton Welker `97

Online Nominations

Hanover College has carried on the cherished tradition of honoring alumni who have distinguished themselves with outstanding professional and personal achievements and those who have loyally dedicated their time and service to their alma mater. All nominees must be living and not currently on either the Board of Trustees nor the Alumni Association Board of Directors.

Your Information

Nominee's Information

Nominated for (please check any that apply and supply additional supporting details below)

Community Service

Service to Hanover College

Professional Achievement

Please be sure to review all your information for accuracy before submitting this form.