Totten Award presented to employees for outstanding service

2022 Hanover College Totten Award recipients
2022 Hanover College service award recipients and retirees

Eleven members of the Hanover College campus community have been selected as recipients of the 2022 Stanley Totten Award. The award presentation, along with recognition of 26 service milestones and three retiring employees, was part of an end-of-year event May 17 in the Withrow Activities Center.

Started in 2007, the Totten Award is presented to employees for outstanding service above and beyond normal job responsibilities.

Recipients of the 2022 Totten Award include: Uschi Appelt, Pam Brown, Steve Graves, Chris Hitchcock ’97, Mary Phillips, Reiley Noe, J. Michael Raley, Bob Slade, Sue Fryback Tilley ’89, Lynn Todd and Kerry Volansky.

Appelt is director of Hanover’s study abroad program. Brown serves as director of environmental health and safety. Graves works as assistant registrar. Hitchcock is admission director of recruitment and assistant women’s basketball coach. Phillips serves as an assistant to the Office of the President and Levett Career Center. Noe works as a reference librarian instructional technologist. Raley is a professor of history. Slade serves the physical plant’s grounds operation. Tilley is an administrative assistant in the athletic department. Todd works as human resources payroll coordinator. Volansky serves as program director and professor for physical therapy.

The award pays tribute to Stanley Totten, a retired professor of geology who has served Hanover as an educator and volunteer since 1962. This year’s presentation follows a two-year, COVID-related hiatus for the employee awards.

Previous Recipients:

2019: Steve Brown, Lindsay Rainey Faulstick ‘07, Aarik Gault, Steve Steiner

2018: Tony Carlton, Katie Linville, Jan Spry

2017: John Collins, Christian Hanson, David Harden, Patricia Lawrence

2016: Joe Lackner, Tony Osterman, Darrin Rubino

2015: Lori Hedges ‘06, Rick Lostutter, Dan Murphy ‘81

2014: Dominique Battles, Rhonda Burch, Miryam Criado, Dawn Houze, Debbie Kroger, Ed Walters, Chris Wilcox

2013: Darleen Connolly, Gus McQueary, Sara Patterson, Debbie Quinn, Pat Schuring, Sarah Vosmeier

2012: Caleb Gosnell ‘07, Lyn Lyon, Kay Stokes

2011: Kevin Brown, Carter Cloyd, Doug Denne, Ron Wells, Dave Collier

2010: Ken Bevis, Summer Hawkins, Betsy Milligan Johnson ‘70, Michael McMahon, Brian White

2009: Victoria Bramwell, John Jones, Celeste Hartman Sutter ‘85, Ruth Turner ‘73

2008: Terry Lewis, Josh Payne, Michelle Rubino, Nasrin Shahinpoor, Treva Shelton

2007: Erin Amerson, Celia Dollmeyer, Pat Dunn