Hanover College graduates are successful in every profession imaginable, including law, science, medicine, business, politics, and the creative arts. They are often leaders and innovators in their fields. Here are just a few of the college's many prominent alumni:

Thomas A. Hendricks 1841

Vice President of the United States under President Cleveland

Harvey Washington Wiley 1867

Author of the Pure Food & Drug Act of 1906

John Merle Coulter 1870

Coulter was one of world's most influential botanists of his day and when at Hanover, first as a student and later on the faculty, he founded Botanical Gazette now known as the International Journal of Plant Science. Coulter eventually became President of Indiana University and Lake Forest University and was the founding faculty member of the the plant sciences when the University of Chicago was established. He, also, was the science advisor for the establishment of the Boyce Thompson Institute. He published several major textbooks in botany

Marshall E. Newhouse 1872

Representative and Senator, State of Indiana

Reginald H. Thomson 1877

Designed modern Seattle

James Graham Brown 1902


Leslie MacDill 1909

Chief of the United States Air Corps, namesake of MacDill Air Force Base


Served as Indiana's Superintendent of Schools from 1951-1959-- under his administration he move the schools in Indiana to consolidation- improved the graduation rates in the state and authored a book on building better schools in Indiana. He made headlines nation wide fighting McCarthyism keeping books such as Little Red Ridding Hood and others on the bookshelves of the schools.

Charles Kirwan McHarry 1936

Journalist, drama critic, wrote "On the Town" column for the New York Daily News

Carol Warner Shields 1957

Pulitzer prize winning author of The Stone Diaries

James W. Near 1960

Chairman and CEO of Wendy's International, Inc. from 1986 - 1996

Harold K. Voris 1962

Curator and Head of the Division of Amphibians and Reptiles, Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago

John Shoemaker 1964

Retired Executive Vice President of Sun Microsystems

Bob Schults 1964

Former CEO of Shaklee

James A. Lake 1965

Retired Associate Laboratory Director of Nuclear Programs, Idaho National Laboratory

Stephen Olvey 1965

Co-Director of the International Motorsports and Vehicular Injury Research Center

Joyce Hopewell Brinkman 1966

First poet laureate of Indiana

Jim Green 1972

Computer scientist who reduced wireless communication time to usable levels

Thom Mayer 1973

Command physician at the Pentagon during 9/11 & Medical Director of the NFL Players Association

Mike Pence 1981

Vice President of the United States, State of Indiana Governor

Jim Ward 1981

Former President, LucasArts

Woody Harrelson 1983

Oscar nominated actor

Jane Huffman Hayes 1983

Awarded the "Most Daring Research Award" by NASA

Michael Hendrickson 1983

Executive Vice President for feature production, 20th Century Fox Film Corp.

Mike Leonard 1984

Head Football Coach, Franklin College

Eric Holcomb 1990

State of Indiana Governor

John Resig 2001

John and his brother, Leo, founded Resignation Media, LLC in August 2007 and then launched theCHIVE.com in November 2008.

Brett Dietz 2004

AFL football quarterback

Leah Peelman 2006

Fourth place in NCAA III National 10K