Jones, Ratts, Bates and Davidson lead award winners at 83rd-annual Honors Convocation

Hanover College academic seal in red, paired with text that reads: The 83rd annual honors convocation

Cambria Jones ’20 and Logan Ratts ’20 received Hanover College’s top student academic awards, while Jared Bates and Rachel Davidson earned top faculty awards during the 83rd-annual Honors Convocation. The event, celebrating the achievements of the College’s students and faculty, was presented April 28-May 1 through a video series on Hanover’s YouTube channel.

Jones, a double major in mathematics and Spanish, earned the Henry C. Long Citation for Scholarship and General Excellence as the outstanding senior female. She also received the Morse Mathematical Award and was the 2019 recipient of the Dr. John E. Yarnelle Mathematics Prize.

Jones, who also received certification for secondary education, has been an admissions ambassador, peer advisor and Gladish Center for Teaching and Learning tutor. She also served as a member of the Hanover Student Education Association, CRU Ministries, Teacher Education Committee and Seventh Grade Mentors.

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program semifinalist also holds memberships in numerous honor societies, including Mortar Board, National Honor Society for College Seniors, Phi Sigma Iota, National Foreign Language Honors Society, Alpha Lambda Delta and The National Honor Society for First-Year Success.

hanover college academic seal

Ratts, a biochemistry major with a minor in kinesiology, received the John Finley Crowe Citation for Scholarship and General Excellence as the outstanding senior male. He also earned the Alpha Lambda Delta Award.

A four-year member of Hanover’s basketball team, Ratts was a two-time academic all-Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference honoree and was also named to the league’s sportsmanship team. The program’s freshman of the year as a newcomer, he later earned the program’s Marty Brennan Hustle Award and was named the squad’s defensive player of the year.

Ratts has been a member of Alpha Lambda Delta, Gamma Sigma Pi and Beta Beta Beta honor societies. He served Phi Gamma Delta fraternity as scholarship chair and held additional on-campus positions including peer advisor, peer mentor, resident assistant, learning center tutor and study group leader.

Bates, a professor of philosophy, earned the Arthur and Ilene Baynham Outstanding Teaching Award. Established by the College in 1969, the honoree is selected by a ballot of currently enrolled students and alumni from the past two graduating classes. To be eligible, a faculty member must be in at least the fourth year of teaching at the College. The winner receives a bronze medallion and a cash prize.

Bates teaches courses in foundational issues in philosophy, reason and belief, rational choices, formal logic, philosophy of mind, philosophy of science and epistemology. Since coming to Hanover in 2005, he has also served the College as a member of nearly every major faculty committee, an elected faculty representative to the Board of Trustees and member of the Presidential Search Committee. He has also served in a variety of capacities with the Indiana Philosophical Association and reviewed manuscripts for numerous national and international journals, organizations and publishers.

Davidson, an assistant professor of communication, received the Daryl R. Karns Award for Scholarly and Creative Activity. The award, named for the biology professor who died in 2011, recognizes sustained scholarly or creative achievement. Faculty members nominate colleagues for the award, which are sent to three judges at liberal arts colleges similar to Hanover. The winner receives a bronze medallion and a cash prize.

Davidson, who joined the College’s faculty in 2015, was recognized for a research program that reaches both academic and non-academic audiences. Her in-depth look at the popular television series “The Gilmore Girls” explores the rhetorical construction of gender, sexuality, female empowerment, mothering and caregiving.

83rd-annual Honors DayRecipient
The John Finley Crowe Citation for Scholarship and General ExcellenceLogan Ratts
The Henry C. Long Citation for Scholarship and General ExcellenceCambria Jones
The Arthur and Ilene Baynham Outstanding Teaching AwardJared Bates
The Daryl R. Karns Award for Scholarly and Creative ActivityRachel Davidson
The Alpha Lambda Delta AwardAllyson Davis
Logan Ratts
The Algernon Sydney Sullivan AwardSamuel Pyle
The Mary Mildred Sullivan AwardAbby Chamberlin
The Dennis Kovener AwardSimone Henderson
The Distinguished Award in Art & DesignAlex Fabert
The Distinguished Award in Art HistoryHannah Miller
The Enos Pray Biology AwardCiara Mergler
The Distinguished Award in BiochemistryZoe Burrow
Gerald R. Johnson ’69 Business Scholars Program Academic Excellence AwardLandon Carrico
Betsy Milligan Johnson ’70 Business Scholars Program Achievement AwardRachael Barnhorst
The Ned Guthrie Chemistry AwardCaroline Millard
The Keith and Gwen White Award for Graduate Study in ChemistryAllison Reardon
The Distinguished Award in Classical StudiesWaverly Carmichael
Zoe Henry
The Distinguished Award in CommunicationJulia Long
The John B. Goodrich Prize in OratorySamuel Pyle
The Distinguished Award in Computer SciencePaxton Caldwell
Ethan Monnin
The Distinguished Award in EconomicsRachael Barnhorst
Ally Davis
The Distinguished Award in Elementary EducationElizabeth Matchett
The Distinguished Award in Secondary EducationKaleb Grabert
The Distinguished Award in Special EducationAbigail Howes
The Hilda M. Cordrey AwardsAbigail Howes (1st Place)
Elizabeth Matchett (2nd Place)
The Distinguished Award in EngineeringTaylor Bleistein
Christian Reed
The Dorothy S. Bucks Award in EnglishAngel Pierce
The John Livingston Lowes Award in EnglishUrsula Kremer
The Charles and Dorothy Lynn English PrizeEmma Kate McMurtry
Katarina Rexing
The Aubra Jade Hiland Award for Creative WritingUrsula Kremer
The Edward J. Hamilton Essay PrizeSydney Claypoole
Adriana Conway
The Eli Mace Essay PrizeCherie Miner
The Philip R. Taylor Award for Student PublishingJoshua Smith
The Distinguished Award in FrenchEdrei Garcia
The Distinguished Award in GeologyKenna Hunter
Steve Loria
The Distnguished Award in Health and Movement StudiesAllyssa Edwards
The Robert E. Bowers History AwardKaleb Grabert
Nicholas Vaughn
Eric Woodruff
The Aastik Pokhrel Internship AwardSam Piacente
The Distinguished Award in Kinesiology and Integrative PhysiologyCami Jones
Brandi Brock
The Morse Mathematical AwardCambria Jones
The Dr. John E. Yarnelle Mathematics PrizeAaron Stocksdale
The Distinguished Award in PhilosophyKendall Smith
The Distinguished Award in Political ScienceSarah Bucker
The A. Glenn Mower, Jr. Pre-Law AwardSarah Bucker
The Distinguished Award in PsychologyLauren Lester
The George A. and Sara O. Zirkle Award in PsychologyMeghan Lanter
The Robert R. and Clara J. Beach Award in SociologyOlivia Johnson
The Distinguished Award in SpanishJoshua Smith
Distinguished Award in TheatreKatelynn Dudzik
Distinguished Award in TheologyJoshua Smith