Events

Events Calendar

September 2017

Sunday August 27
Monday August 28
Tuesday August 29
Wednesday August 30
Thursday August 31
Friday September 1
Saturday September 2
Sunday September 3
  • Residence Halls Open for Continuing Students
Monday September 4
  • Drop/Add Week
  • Classes begin
Tuesday September 5
Wednesday September 6
Thursday September 7
  • Fall Convocation 3:30 p.m.
    Collier Arena, Horner Center
Friday September 8
  • "Americana" featuring Madlen Batchvarova and Minnita Daniel-Cox
    Center Fine Arts
    7 p.m. - 9 p.m.
    Pianist Madlen Batchvarova and soprano Minnita Daniel-Cox will present an evening of art songs, American spirituals and arias from operas and musical during a special concert in Fitzgibbon Recital Hall, Lynn Center for Fine Arts.
Saturday September 9
  • Back to School Luau
    Outside
    6 p.m. - 8 p.m.
    Join us for free Hawaiian food, authentic Hawaiian dancers and dance lessons, and lots of games.
Sunday September 10
Monday September 11
Tuesday September 12
Wednesday September 13
Thursday September 14
Friday September 15
Saturday September 16
Sunday September 17
  • Nutrition Talk
    Horner Center
    2 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
    Fuel Up! Current trends in Sports Nutrition. Presentation includes: Hydration and avoiding muscle cramps Proper nutrition and optimal times to eat Optimizing nutrition to improve performance
Monday September 18
Tuesday September 19
  • Charters of Freedom 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday September 20
Thursday September 21
  • Southeastern Indiana Regional College Fair
    6 - 7:30 p.m. in Collier Arena. Financial aid information sessions will be held at 5:30 and 6:30 p.m. in Horner 102.
Friday September 22
  • Major Fair
    Brown Campus Center
    2 p.m. - 4 p.m.
    A major fair wherein students mingle with professors and learn about majors and career opportunities.
Saturday September 23
Sunday September 24
Monday September 25
Tuesday September 26
Wednesday September 27
Thursday September 28
Friday September 29
Saturday September 30

October 2017

Sunday October 1
Monday October 2
  • The Philadelphia Center Information Session
    Lynn Hall
    4 p.m. - 5 p.m.
    Celina Madden from the Philadelphia Center will be on campus to tell students all about how they can live, learn, and intern in Philadelphia for a full semester and earn 4 full units for their adventure. Let us know if you plan to attend the presentation - email careercenter@hanover.edu, call 812.866.7127, or stop by our office in Hendricks Hall. The Philadelphia Center Providing opportunities for professional exploration, intellectual development, and personal growth, in the heart of one of America's largest and most dynamic cities, The Philadelphia Center features more than 800 field placements along with one-of-a-kind seminars and independent living in an exciting urban setting. As an intern, you'll: Work four days a week in a well-supervised position, earning 2 academic credits, Participate in a city seminar, Take an elective course, Develop self-reliance by living independently, Learn to thrive in a wonderful and challenging new environment, and Gain insights into yourself, p
  • Elanco Presentation
    Brown Campus Center
    4 p.m. - 5 p.m.
    Join Felicia Nguyen (HC '15) to learn about laboratory opportunities at Elanco/Clinton Labs. Come to the WAC for food, fun, and information. Students interested in a full-time or internship position (and interviews on Fr. Oct. 13th) are encouraged to bring their resumes to the WAC. Contact Sue at tilley@hanover.edu for more information.
Tuesday October 3
Wednesday October 4
  • The Washington Center Information Session
    Hendricks Hall
    4 p.m. - 5 p.m.
    Daryl Garrett with the Washington Center will be on campus to tell students all about how they can live, learn, and intern in Washington, DC for a full semester and earn 4 full units for their adventure. Let us know if you plan to attend the presentation - email careercenter@hanover.edu, call 812.866.7127, or stop by our office in Hendricks Hall. The Washington Center As the seat of American government, Washington, D.C. is a natural setting for you to study politics. It also offers you opportunities in media, the arts, education, business, science, international affairs, and much more. TWC will help you develop a program that includes: A 4 day-per-week entry-level internship in your area of interest,earning 2 academic credits, A related academic course, Developing a portfolio documenting and summarizing your experience, Breakfast meetings with dignitaries, members of the press and of Congress, Lectures by distinguished leaders, and Tours and topical discuss
Thursday October 5
  • Jonathan Cheng talk
    Science Center
    7 p.m. - 8 p.m.
  • Gone Greeks of Hanover
    Duggan Library
    7:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
    Gone Greeks is a presentation of Greek life at Hanover College. It tells the stories of social Greek organizations that were once apart of Hanover College. Beginning with Beta Theta Pi and ending with Alpha Omicron Pi, Gone Greeks connects active chapters with its long gone Pan-Hellenic and IFC counterparts. It will talk of the arrival of chapters on Hanover's campus, several national mergers, and how the Great Depression dissolved many of these organizations."
Friday October 6
Saturday October 7
Sunday October 8
Monday October 9
Tuesday October 10
  • Grad School Alumni Panel
    Brown Campus Center
    7 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
    Talk with alumni who have transitioned from Hanover to graduate and professional school programs. Contact Therese Sutter at suttert@hanover.edu with any questions.
Wednesday October 11
Thursday October 12
Friday October 13
  • Board of Trustees Meeting
  • Elanco/Clinton Labs Interviews
    Hendricks Hall
    9 a.m. - 2 p.m.
    Elanco/Clinton Labs will be on-campus to interview Chemistry majors for full-time and internship positions. Interested candidates are encouraged to bring their résumé to the Elanco information session on Monday, Oct. 2nd in the Withrow Activity Centerat 4:00 p.m. If you want to interview with Elanco, please contact Sue Tilley at tilley@hanover.edu.
Saturday October 14
  • Homecoming
  • Saturday Night Gathering
    Brown Campus Center
    5 p.m. - 11 p.m.
    Bill Bettler and Craig Philipps band, The Greene Room, will perform for all alumni, faculty and staff. They will set up on the stage and begin at 5pm. Light refreshments (chips, pretzels, dips, etc) will be available along with a cash bar. Room set up: need room for dancing, use high cocktail tables, tables already in WC, use couches to create a lounge type feel and utilize the upstairs area of the Withrow Center for seating as well.
Sunday October 15
Monday October 16
  • FBI Information Session with Wendy Osborne
    Lynn Hall
    4 p.m. - 5 p.m.
    Wendy Osborne, Special Agent with the FBI in Indianapolis, will be on campus to tell students about careers at the FBI, including their internship program and collegiate job postings (for soon to be graduates). The application deadline is fast approaching (October 15, 20160 for these competitive opportunities. Anyone interested in a career with the FBI or any federal agency is strongly encouraged to attend. Let us know you'll be there - email careercenter@hanover.edu or call 812.866.7127.
Tuesday October 17
Wednesday October 18
Thursday October 19
Friday October 20
Saturday October 21
  • Fall Break
Sunday October 22
Monday October 23
Tuesday October 24
Wednesday October 25
  • Classes Resume
  • Academic Advising Period
Thursday October 26
Friday October 27
Saturday October 28
Sunday October 29
Monday October 30
  • Online Registration for Winter/Spring 2018
  • IU School of Optometry Information Session
    Lynn Hall
    4 p.m. - 5 p.m.
    Learn about the IU School of Optometry from Joseph Boes, Associate Director, Recruitment & Student Services.
Tuesday October 31
Wednesday November 1
Thursday November 2
Friday November 3
Saturday November 4

November 2017

Sunday October 29
Monday October 30
Tuesday October 31
Wednesday November 1
Thursday November 2
Friday November 3
Saturday November 4
Sunday November 5
Monday November 6
Tuesday November 7
Wednesday November 8
Thursday November 9
Friday November 10
Saturday November 11
Sunday November 12
Monday November 13
Tuesday November 14
Wednesday November 15
  • Drop/Add Week
Thursday November 16
Friday November 17
Saturday November 18
Sunday November 19
Monday November 20
Tuesday November 21
  • Thanksgiving Break
    Begins at close of class day.
Wednesday November 22
  • Thanksgiving Break
    College closed
Thursday November 23
Friday November 24
Saturday November 25
Sunday November 26
Monday November 27
  • Classes Resume
Tuesday November 28
Wednesday November 29
Thursday November 30
Friday December 1
Saturday December 2

December 2017

Sunday November 26
Monday November 27
Tuesday November 28
Wednesday November 29
Thursday November 30
Friday December 1
Saturday December 2
Sunday December 3
Monday December 4
Tuesday December 5
Wednesday December 6
Thursday December 7
Friday December 8
Saturday December 9
Sunday December 10
Monday December 11
  • Examination Week
Tuesday December 12
Wednesday December 13
Thursday December 14
Friday December 15
  • Christmas Break Begins at 5:00 p.m.
Saturday December 16
  • Christmas Break
Sunday December 17
Monday December 18
Tuesday December 19
Wednesday December 20
Thursday December 21
Friday December 22
Saturday December 23
Sunday December 24
Monday December 25
  • College Offices closed for Christmas Break
Tuesday December 26
Wednesday December 27
Thursday December 28
Friday December 29
Saturday December 30
Sunday December 31
Monday January 1
Tuesday January 2
Wednesday January 3
Thursday January 4
Friday January 5
Saturday January 6

January 2018

Sunday December 31
Monday January 1
Tuesday January 2
Wednesday January 3
Thursday January 4
Friday January 5
Saturday January 6
Sunday January 7
Monday January 8
  • Drop/Add Week
  • Classes Resume
Tuesday January 9
Wednesday January 10
Thursday January 11
Friday January 12
Saturday January 13
Sunday January 14
Monday January 15
Tuesday January 16
Wednesday January 17
Thursday January 18
Friday January 19
Saturday January 20
Sunday January 21
Monday January 22
Tuesday January 23
Wednesday January 24
Thursday January 25
Friday January 26
Saturday January 27
Sunday January 28
Monday January 29
Tuesday January 30
Wednesday January 31
Thursday February 1
Friday February 2
Saturday February 3

February 2018

Sunday January 28
Monday January 29
Tuesday January 30
Wednesday January 31
Thursday February 1
Friday February 2
  • Board of Trustees Meetings
Saturday February 3
Sunday February 4
Monday February 5
Tuesday February 6
Wednesday February 7
Thursday February 8
Friday February 9
Saturday February 10
Sunday February 11
Monday February 12
Tuesday February 13
Wednesday February 14
Thursday February 15
Friday February 16
Saturday February 17
Sunday February 18
Monday February 19
Tuesday February 20
Wednesday February 21
Thursday February 22
Friday February 23
  • Winter Break Begins at Close of Class Day
Saturday February 24
  • Winter Break
Sunday February 25
Monday February 26
Tuesday February 27
Wednesday February 28
Thursday March 1
Friday March 2
Saturday March 3